top of page

The Hope Fuelled

Home: Welcome

We are the Hopefuelled.

This devotional blog has been created by Canterbury Christian Schools' Work Trust to encourage and equip the youth of Canterbury in their faith. Our aim is to fuel you with hope that empowers the good times and strengthens times when life feels tougher. We continue to pray for you and believe that God has prepared opportunities for you to fuel hope in your schools, community and home.        

You are the HopeFuelled.

Home: About
Home: Blog2
Search

Salt and Pepper



Pray that every time I open my mouth I’ll be able to make Christ plain as day to them... Use your heads as you live and work among outsiders. Don’t miss a trick. Make the most of every opportunity. Be gracious in your speech. The goal is to bring out the best in others in a conversation, not put them down, not cut them out.

I've just come back from a wonderful week in Italy with a wonderful organisation called Oak Hall! Gelato is now my favourite desert, I know how to make an authentic pizza and I have no idea where I'm going to find such good (and cheap) coffee again!


Flavours are important. In this case Paul speaks of how words can be like flavours 'peppering' our conversation with Christ. In Italy one of my friends had a meal with way too much salt and overloaded in pepper, it made her push it away. Remember, we don't need to 'over flavour' our conversations like Ned Flanders... just a little here and there. Ask jesus to lead you in it.


We are also called to be like salt, bringing out the best in a person, encouraging them not breaking them down. Imagine what your school would look like, if this was how people lived! Start with your friendship group and see what happens.


When I'm tired, hungry, disappointed or feel trapped, being gracious, being encouraging and talking about Jesus is not my first thought. At school it was probably my last thought (I think I was also constantly tired and hungry at school!). Our last chapter in Colossions can give us some tips. Maybe take 5 minutes each evening this week to pray each of these. We've added some ideas to start you off:


1. Pray diligently

Father, help me remember to remember you in my everyday living. Help me to live knowing your grace and love towards me and your Holy Spirit in me who can help me at any moment. ..


2. Be Thankful

Thank you for saving me, thank you that you don't give up on me. Thank you for being there whenever I need you. Thank you for your love. Thank you that you have a plan for my life. Thank you that you are my peace in any storm...


3. Pray for open doors

Jesus, please would you show me how to talk to my friends about you. Holy Spirit fill me with confidence and boldness when the opportunity arises.


4. Pray for our Speech

Father forgive me for where I may have not spoken kindly today. Help me to focus on goodness and grace and speak our words that build up and bring out the best in people.


5. Lift up others.

Show me who I need to encourage tomorrow, may it provide and open door to speak about you and may it change my community.



0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page